JA Bayona Reunites with Academy Award-Winning Composer Michael Giacchino on 'Society of the Snow'

JA Bayona Reunites with Academy Award-Winning Composer Michael Giacchino on ‘Society of the Snow’

Spanish director JA Bayona (The impossible, The orphanage) is collaborating with his Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom composer Michael Giacchino for his new project, The Snow Company (Snow Society). Netflix, which is producing the Spanish-language survival thriller, confirmed the news on Tuesday.

Snow Society wants to tell the story of the Uruguayan rugby team who, en route to Chile in 1972, crashed on a glacier in the heart of the Andes. The survivors were forced to resort to extreme measures to survive. Bayona, Bernat Vilaplana, Jaime Marques and Nicolás Casariego co-wrote the screenplay for Snow Societyadapting non-fiction book The Snow Company by Pablo Vierci. Filming took place in 2022 in Spain, Uruguay and Chile, including on location in El Valle de las Lágrimas, where the real incident occurred.

Related stories

Commenting on his collaboration with Giacchino, Bayona called the Italian composer “chameleonic” with “an extraordinary talent that allows him to shine in very different projects. I’m really excited about that Snow Society it is his first project in Spain and in Spanish. His very personal and elegant sensibility and his enormous abilities to narrate through music are a joy for any director. His music for the film brings a special voice and energy that transforms the odyssey of the Andes into a story that is even more relevant, uplifting and universal, if possible.”

A prolific and diverse composer, Giacchino is perhaps best known for his scores of Pixar hits such as Ratatouillewhich earned him an Academy Award nomination, and Onwhich secured the Italian composer the Oscar for best original score in 2010. Giacchino’s extensive curriculum also includes scores for The Incredibles, Coconut, Jojo Rabbit, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, The Batman, Jurassic World: Domination AND Spider-Man: Homecoming. He also directed the Disney+ TV special Werewolf at night and one of the independent short films of the Star Trek: Short Trips series.

Uruguayan Air Force Flight 571 event made into 1993 film I live by director Frank Marshall with Ethan Hawke, Vincent Spano and Josh Hamilton. The fateful crash and the team’s story of survival were also a clear inspiration for Showtime’s hit series Yellow jackets.

The cast of THE Snow Society includes Enzo Vogrincic Roldan, Matthias Recalt, Augustin Pardella, Thomas Wolf, Diego Ariel Vegezzi, Esteban Kukuriczka, Francisco Romero, Rafael Federman, Felipe Gonzalez Autumn, Augustin della Corte, Valentino Alonso, Simon Hempe, Fernando Contigiani Garcia, Benjamin Segura and Jerome Bosia . . . .

Netflix will distribute the film worldwide. A release date has not yet been set.